Skip to main content
Series / Collection

Data on Written Complaints in the NHS

National statistics
Frequency:
Quarterly
Geographic Coverage:
England
Geographical Granularity:
Ambulance Trusts, Strategic Health Authorities, Primary Care Organisations, Care Trusts, Clinical Commissioning Groups, Hospital and Community Health Services, NHS Health Boards, Health Education England Region, Hospital Trusts, Hospital Sites, Independent Sector Health Care Providers, Mental Health Trusts, NHS Trusts, GP practices, Regional health body, Regions, Dental practices, Community health services, Pharmacies and clinics, Clinical Commissioning Regions

Summary

Data on Written Complaints in the NHS

Update 12/02/2021

A consultation on the KO41b Primary Care complaints collection titled; 'Consultation on changes to the Data on Written Complaints in the NHS – Primary Care (GP and Dental) KO41b collection' is now live at https://nhs-digital.citizenspace.com/ and is open until 26 March 2021.

Update 02/02/2021

Following the suspension of the KO41a secondary care and KO41b primary care collections in response to the Covid-19 pandemic we can now provide an update regarding these collections.

KO41a HCHS (secondary care) complaints collection

We resumed the collection of these data in September 2020. The 2019-20 Q4 data was published in November 2020, and the 2020-21 Q1 and Q2 data was published in January 2021. The timetable for the 2020-21 Q3 and Q4 collection and publication is:

  • 2020-21 Q3 (Oct-Dec) and Q4 (Jan-Mar) data will be collected from 05 April 2021 – 14 May 2021
  • We aim to publish the 2020-21 Q3 and Q4 data in July 2021. Publication dates will be notified on the NHS Digital website in due course.

KO41b primary care (GP and Dental) complaints collection

Following the suspension of the collection and publication of the 2019-20 annual KO41b data from GP and Dental practices, we can confirm that this collection will not take place for 2019-20. This means there will be no collection or publication of 2019-20 data.

The intention is to use this as an opportunity to streamline the data collection for 2020-21 (which we intend to collect in May/June 2021) to ensure that the approach and information requested is proportionate and removes unnecessary administrative burdens from the collection. We would like to enlist the help of practice managers and staff to help with developing the content and approach and if you are interested in being involved please contact: nhs.comp@nhs.net

Latest statistics

Past publications