Skip to main content
Series / Collection

Data on Written Complaints in the NHS

Summary

Data on Written Complaints in the NHS

Update 07/09/2020

Following the suspension of the KO41a secondary care and KO41b primary care collections in response to the Covid-19 pandemic we can now provide an update regarding these collections.

KO41a HCHS (secondary care) complaints collection

We will be resuming the collection and publication of these data and will do so according to the following timetable:

  • 2019-20 Q4 (Jan-Mar) data will be collected from 7 September 2020 – 9 October 2020
  • 2020-21 Q1 (Apr-Jun) and Q2 (Jul-Sep) data will be collected from 12 October 2020 – 20 November 2020
  • We aim to publish the 2019-20 Q4 data in November 2020 and the 2020-21 Q1 and Q2 data in January 2021. Publication dates will be notified on the NHS Digital website in due course.

KO41b primary care (GP and Dental) complaints collection

Following the suspension of the collection and publication of the 2019-20 annual KO41b data from GP and Dental practices, we can confirm that this collection will not take place for 2019-20. This means there will be no collection or publication of 2019-20 data.

The intention is to use this as an opportunity to streamline the data collection for 2020-21 (which we intend to collect in May/June 2021) to ensure that the approach and information requested is proportionate and removes unnecessary administrative burdens from the collection. We would like to enlist the help of practice managers and staff to help with developing the content and approach and if you are interested in being involved please contact: nhs.comp@nhs.net

Latest Version

  • This quarterly collection is a count of written complaints made by (or on behalf of) patients. Data are collected via the KO41a and are for complaints about NHS Hospital and Community Health Services (HCHS) in England. The data relates to the complaints arrangements introduced in April 2009.

Upcoming

Previous Versions