Skip to main content
Creating a new NHS England: Health Education England, NHS Digital and NHS England have merged. More about the merger.

Education and Training Standards and self-assessment

By applying the Education and Training Standards, any health and social care training service (large or small) can be sure they are following good practice and that the quality of their training delivery and all related activities are of a high standard. The standards cover each stage of the training life cycle from identifying training needs, planning and design through to evaluation and assessment. The Standards Toolkit includes a number of templates and resources, including a self-assessment tool. 

The six standards

An overview of each standard can be accessed below;

Each standard is divided into five levels:

  • Level 1
  • Level 2
  • Level 3 (Bronze)
  • Level 4 (Silver)
  • Level 5 (Gold)

Each level is made up of several individual requirements.

Download the standards

To download the Standards, please email us. Within your email please include:

  • your name
  • your organisation
  • your region in the UK (or other)
  • if you are an NHS organisation


The standards now include a self-assessment tool which can be used by training services to compare their current processes and activities against the standards to measure how well they are performing.

The benefits of self-assessment

  • Establish an initial benchmark for the training service against which progress can be measured
  • Identify where improvements can be made to training services
  • Identify evidence to support the self-assessment.

Accessing the self-assessment tool

The self-assessment tool is provided with the Standards, to access these please contact the Training Quality Improvement team at NHS Digital on [email protected]

Last edited: 19 March 2020 3:09 pm