Skip to main content

Cancer Waiting Times Data Collection (CWT)

The national Cancer Waiting Times (CWT) system allows NHS providers to record data derived from patient care activity. This data can be used to monitor cancer waiting times targets or plan service improvements. As a patient moves through the stages of their treatment pathway data on referrals, treatments and diagnosis are derived from care records locally (decisions on how to collect these data from local systems are made locally).

After collection, the cancer waiting times data can be queried by NHS organisations, cancer networks and the Department of Health to provide reports and feedback on the progress towards meeting these targets.

The national cancer waiting times monitoring dataset guidance v10.0 provides information on inter-provider transfers (new logic) and faster diagnosis standard requirements of cancer waiting times, and seeks to ensure staff from both informatics and clinical teams understand the data they need to be reporting on.  

Frequency: Monthly

Launch and submission dates

More information on report generation dates can be found on Report generation dates

Final upload deadlines and report generation dates for the Cancer Waiting Times System are below.

Monthly reports

Quarterly reports

Bulk upload deadline

On-screen edits deadline

Generation date

Sep-18

Q2 - 2018-2019

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

Thursday, 1 November 2018

Friday, 2 November 2018

Oct-18

 

Monday, 3 December 2018

Tuesday, 4 December 2018

Wednesday, 5 December 2018

April 2018 to September 2018 revisions

Q1 - 2018- 2019 and Q2 2018-2019

Monday 3 December 2018

Tuesday 4 December 2018

Wednesday 5 December 2018

Nov-18

 

Friday, 4 January 2019

Monday, 7 January 2019

Tuesday, 8 January 2019

Dec-18

Q3 - 2018-2019

Friday, 1 February 2019

Monday, 4 February 2019

Tuesday, 5 February 2019

Jan-19

 

Tuesday, 5 March 2019

Wednesday, 6 March 2019

Thursday, 7 March 2019

Feb-19

 

Tuesday, 2 April 2019

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Thursday, 4 April 2019

Mar-19

Q4 - 2018-2019

Tuesday, 30 April 2019

Wednesday, 1 May 2019

Thursday, 2 May 2019

Apr-19

 

Monday, 3 June 2019

Tuesday, 4 June 2019

Wednesday, 5 June 2019

Oct 2018 to Mar 2019 revisions

Q3 2018-19 and Q4 2018-19 revisions

Monday, 3 June 2019

Tuesday, 4 June 2019

Wednesday, 5 June 2019

May-19

 

Wednesday, 3 July 2019

Thursday, 4 July 2019

Friday, 5 July 2019

Jun-19

Q1 - 2019-2020

Wednesday, 31 July 2019

Thursday, 1 August 2019

Friday, 2 August 2019

Jul-19

 

Tuesday, 3 September 2019

Wednesday, 4 September 2019

Thursday, 5 September 2019

Aug-19

 

Wednesday, 2 October 2019

Thursday, 3 October 2019

Friday, 4 October 2019

Sep-19

Q2 - 2019-2020

Thursday, 31 October 2019

Friday, 1 November 2019

Monday, 4 November 2019

Oct-19

 

Monday, 2 December 2019

Tuesday, 3 December 2019

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Apr 2019 to Sept 2019 revisions

Q1 2019-20 and Q2 2019-20 revisions

Monday, 2 December 2019

Tuesday, 3 December 2019

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Nov-19

 

Thursday, 2 January 2020

Friday, 3 January 2020

Monday, 6 January 2020

Dec-19

Q3 - 2019-2020

Monday, 3 February 2020

Tuesday, 4 February 2020

Wednesday, 5 February 2020

Jan-20

 

Wednesday, 4 March 2020

Thursday 5 March 2020

Friday 6 March 2020

Reporting and publication of inter-provider transfers

Patient activity Reporting logic Monthly report published Quarterly report published
Sep-18 Old Logic Nov-18 November 2018 (Q2 2018-19 patient activity)
Oct-18 Old Logic Dec-18  
Nov-18 Old Logic Jan-19  
Dec-18 Old Logic Feb-19 February 2019 (Q3 2018-19 patient activity)
Jan-19 Old Logic Mar-19  
Feb-19 Old Logic Apr-19  
Mar-19 Old Logic May-19 May 2019 (Q4 2018-19 patient activity)
Apr-19 New Logic Jun-19  
May-19 New Logic Jul-19  
Jun-19 New Logic Aug-19 August 2019 (Q1 2019-20 patient activity)

Guidance

Contact details

To raise an issue with the Cancer Waiting Times System contact the National Service Desk at NHS Digital:

National Service Desk
Email: ssd.nationalservicedesk@nhs.net
Phone: 0300 303 5035

To raise an issue regarding policy, procedure or national statistics contact the Cancer Waiting Times team at NHS England:

england.cancerwaitsdata@nhs.net

Further Information

Cancer Network Codes

The National Cancer Waiting Times system now uses the same set of Cancer Network codes as used by the Cancer Action Team and the Department of Health.

Cancer Waiting Times (CWT): GPDR information

Why and how we process your data in the Cancer Waiting Times (CWT) system, and your rights.

NHSE CWT Statistics Page

NHSE Cancer Page

UK Cancer Data and Information

International Cancer Organisations

UK Cancer Tools and Intelligence

Last edited: 2 August 2019 12:36 pm