Cancer Waiting Times

Summary

The national Cancer Waiting Times (CWT) system allows NHS providers to record data derived from patient care activity. This data can be used to monitor cancer waiting times targets or plan service improvements. As a patient moves through the stages of their treatment pathway data on referrals, treatments and diagnosis are derived from care records locally (decisions on how to collect these data from local systems are made locally).

After collection, the cancer waiting times data can be queried by NHS organisations, cancer networks and the Department of Health to provide reports and feedback on the progress towards meeting these targets.

The Addendum to the National Cancer Waiting Times Monitoring Data Guidance v.9.0 provides guidance about the Inter Provider Transfers and Faster Diagnosis Standard requirements of cancer waiting times and seeks to ensure that staff from both informatics and clinical teams understand the data they need to be reporting on.

 

Frequency: Monthly

Launch and submission dates

More information on report generation dates can be found on Report generation dates

Final upload deadlines and report generation dates for the Cancer Waiting Times System are below.

Monthly reports

Quarterly reports

Bulk Upload Deadline

On Screen Edits Deadline

Generation Date

May 2018

 

Tuesday, 3 July 2018

Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Thursday, 5 July 2018

June 2018

Q1 - 2018-2019

Wednesday, 1 August 2018

Thursday, 2 August 2018

Friday, 3 August 2018

July 2018

 

Monday, 3 September 2018

Tuesday, 4 September 2018

Wednesday, 5 September 2018

August 2018

 

Wednesday 3 October 2018

Thursday, 4 October 2018

Friday, 5 October 2018

September 2018

Q2 - 2018-2019

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

Thursday, 1 November 2018

Friday, 2 November 2018

April 2018 to September 2018 revisions

Q1 - 2018- 2019 and Q2 2018-2019

Monday 3 December 2018

Tuesday 4 December 2018

Wednesday 5 December 2018

October 2018

 

Monday, 3 December 2018

Tuesday, 4 December 2018

Wednesday, 5 December 2018

November 2018

 

Friday, 4 January 2019

Monday, 7 January 2019

Tuesday, 8 January 2019

December 2018

Q3 - 2018-2019

Friday, 1 February 2019

Monday, 4 February 2019

Tuesday, 5 February 2019

January 2019

 

Tuesday, 5 March 2019

Wednesday, 6 March 2019

Thursday, 7 March 2019

Reporting and publication of inter-provider transfers

Patient activity Reporting logic Monthly report published Quarterly report published
July Old Logic September  
August Old Logic October  
September Old Logic November

November (Q2 patient activity)

October New Logic December  
November New Logic January  
December New Logic February

February (Q3 patient activity)

January New Logic March  
February New Logic April  
March New Logic May

May (Q4 patient activity)

 

 

 

Guidance

Contact Details

  • To raise an issue with the Cancer Waiting Times System contact the National Service Desk at NHS Digital:

National Service Desk
Email: ssd.nationalservicedesk@nhs.net
Phone: 0300 303 5035

  • To raise an issue regarding policy, procedure or national statistics contact the Cancer Waiting Times team at NHS England:

cancer-waits@dh.gsi.gov.uk

 

Further Information

The National Cancer Waiting Times system now uses the same set of Cancer Network codes as used by the Cancer Action Team and the Department of Health.

Why and how we process your data in the Cancer Waiting Times (CWT) system, and your rights.

 

UK Cancer Data and Information

International Cancer Organisations

UK Cancer Tools and Intelligence