Skip to main content

Submit data to the Mental Health Services Data Set

All providers of specialist secondary mental health, learning disabilities and autism spectrum disorder services should submit to the Mental Health Services Data Set (MHSDS). This page explains how.

How to register to submit data to the MHSDS

Service providers must submit MHSDS data via the Strategic Data Collection Service in the Cloud (SDCS Cloud) using a registered account.

Read more about how to submit data via the SDCS in the Registration and User Guide.

Once registered with SDCS Cloud you can follow our guidance on submitting to the MHSDS.

How to submit to the MHSDS

This guidance describes the steps required for an organisation to be ready to submit the MHSDS to NHS Digital via the SDCS Cloud.

April 2019 data and all subsequent 2019/20 data should be uploaded via SDCS Cloud using the MHSDS v4.0 intermediate database. May 2019 refresh data and June 2019 primary data can be submitted between 5 July 2019 and 21 July 2019. June 2019 refresh data can be submitted between 1 August 2019 and 20 August 2019.

Third party submissions

Most organisations collect and submit their own data to the MHSDS. This is the preferred option.

However some organisations - mostly small, third or independent sector organisations - work with another organisation who submits data to the MHSDS on their behalf.

Where it is more practical to do so, it is acceptable for third and independent sector providers to ask their IT system supplier or another mental health provider (usually a trust) to submit their data on their behalf.

Refer to the PDF document above entitled ‘How to submit to the mental health services data set (MHSDS)’ for additional information on third party submissions.

What to submit

The requirements of the MHSDS are set out in the MHSDS v4.0 (DCB0011) information standard. This defines the data items, definitions and associated value sets to be extracted or derived from local information systems.

Service providers must conform fully with the information standard. Service providers must give full consideration to the scope of the data set to ensure the services they deliver are represented completely in the data set.

MHSDS intermediate database

The intermediate database (IDB) is a tool which enables the collation of data for submission to the MHSDS. It is a Microsoft Access database and data must be provided in this format. Once all data has been uploaded to the IDB, NHS Digital can extract the data as a whole and begin processing it.

The most recent IDB for v4 of the MHSDS can be found on the NHS Digital Technology Reference data Update Distribution (TRUD) pages for which you need to create an account and log in. The XML extract schemas are also available on the TRUD pages under the category "Data Set Development Services XML Extract Schemas".

TRUD is a website hosted by NHS Digital. It provides a mechanism for NHS Digital to license and distribute reference data to interested parties. This is the preferred terminology distribution method of NHS Digital.

Once registered, the IDB is located via the ‘Data Set Development Services Tools’ link and new users will need to click on "licences" which will enable a "download" link to open.

Access mental health services data

NHS Digital makes MHSDS data publicly available in a number of statistical releases. These will be of interest to a range of users including:

  • service providers
  • commissioners
  • patients
  • researchers
  • agencies
  • the wider public

Read about the Mental Health Services Statistics (MHSDS) Monthly Reports.     

Providers and commissioners can download record level extracts of their own MHSDS data by logging into the SDCS Cloud.

Read more about how to access MHSDS data.

Monthly submission dates

MHSDS data must be submitted monthly.

2019/20 data should be submitted to SDCS Cloud using MHSDS v4.0 IDB and in accordance with the timetable below.

Dates are subject to review with at least three months’ notice given for any changes.

Activity month Submission window opens Submission window closes* (23:59 of) Extracts available from
May 19 (R) & June 19 (P) Fri 05 Jul 2019 Sun 21 Jul 2019** Fri 26 Jul 2019
June 19 (R) & July 19 (P) Thu 01 Aug 2019 Tue 20 Aug 2019 Thu 29 Aug 2019
July 19 (R) & August 19 (P) Sun 01 Sep 2019 Thu 19 Sep 2019 Fri 27 Sep 2019
August 19 (R) & September 19 (P) Tue 01 Oct 2019 Fri 18 Oct 2019 Mon 28 Oct 2019
September 19 (R) & October 19 (P) Fri 01 Nov 2019 Wed 20 Nov 2019 Thu 28 Nov 2019
October 19 (R) & November 19 (P) Sun 01 Dec 2019 Thu 19 Dec 2019 Mon 30 Dec 2019
November 19 (R) & December 19 (P) Wed 01 Jan 2020 Tue 21 Jan 2020 Wed 29 Jan 2020
December 19 (R) & January 20 (P) Sat 01 Feb 2020 Thu 20 Feb 2020 Fri 28 Feb 2020
January 20 (R) & February 20 (P) Sun 01 Mar 2020 Thu 19 Mar 2020 Fri 27 Mar 2020
February 20 (R) & March 20 (P) Wed 01 Apr 2020 Wed 22 Apr 2020 Thu 30 Apr 2020
March 20 (R) Fri 01 May 2020 Thu 21 May 2020 Mon 01 Jun 2020

P = primary submission

R = refresh - the refresh submission is the last chance to amend data for the reporting period.

* From April 19 (R)/May (P) data the submission window closes on the 14th working day of the month.

** Window is open until Sunday, however we would recommend submission by Friday 19 July 2019, as NHS Digital are unable to support queries on Saturday and Sunday.

You can also download the submissions timetable in PDF form.

Related pages

  1. internal

    Mental Health Services Monthly Statistics

    This monthly statistical release makes available the most recent MHSDS data from January 2016 onwards and replaces the Monthly MHLDS Reports (last published in February). The release provides the most up to date information available about care given to users of NHS funded secondary mental health, learning disability and autism services for all ages in England.

  2. internal

    Mental health data hub

    The Mental Health Data Hub is a collection of interactive dashboards and useful links covering mental health data in England.

Last edited: 28 October 2019 2:06 pm