Add, change and remove clinic closures
A clinic closure is a planned date when clinics in a series will not run, for example a bank holiday or staff training day.
Clinic closures only apply to a series of clinics. To cancel a single clinic, see the guidance on cancelling a single clinic or clinic series.
You can set a closure for 1 day or a longer period. You can add closures when you create a series of clinics or later by changing an existing series of clinics.
To add closures while creating a series, find out how to create a clinic series.
Add a clinic closure
- Select Clinics from the menu at the top of the page.
- Select Create and manage clinics.
- Find the clinics you want to update and select View and change.
- Find Closures and select Change.
- If there are no existing closures, select Yes, then select Continue.
- If there is already a closure, select Add another closure.
- Enter a name for the closure if you want to.
- Enter the start and end dates.
- Select Continue.
- Select Add another closure if you need to add more closure dates. When you’ve finished adding closures, select Continue.
- If any closures affect booked appointments, choose whether to keep or cancel the booked appointments.
- Check that the closures and any choices about affected booking are correct.
- Select Save changes.
Your changes are not saved until you select Save changes.
Change a clinic closure
- Select Clinics from the menu at the top of the page.
- Select Create and manage clinics.
- Find the clinics you want to update and select View and change.
- Find Closures and select Change.
- Find the closure you want to update and select Change.
- Change or remove the closure name if you need to.
- Change the start or end date if you need to.
- Select Continue.
- Add, change or remove any other closures if you need to, then select Continue.
- If your changes affect existing bookings, choose whether to keep or cancel the booked appointments, then select Continue.
- Check that the closures and any choices about affected bookings are correct.
- Select Save changes.
Your changes are not saved until you select Save changes.
Remove a clinic closure
- Select Clinics from the menu at the top of the page.
- Select Create and manage clinics.
- Find the clinics you want to update and select View and change.
- Find Closures and select Change.
- Find the closure you want to remove and select Remove.
- Select Yes, then select Continue.
- Remove any other closures if you need to, then select Continue.
- Check that the closures are correct.
- Select Save changes.
When you remove a closure, the affected clinic dates reopen. Eligible people can book appointments on those dates again.
Your changes are not saved until you select Save changes.
Last edited: 1 October 2026 9:28 am