Skip to main content
The Website Services team at NHS England are testing early designs to understand how you find information. Your views will help us check our ideas work. Sign up to take part in our user research.

Part of NHS England Secure Data Environment user management guide

Deactivate and reactivate users

You can temporarily deactivate a user if they do not need to use their account for a while. For example, if the user goes on annual leave.

To deactivate an account:

  1. Go to the user’s details page.
  2. In the status row, select Deactivate user.

SDE role status screen with first user marked as activated

3. Select Yes and click Continue. The user will be deactivated and they will receive an email.

SDE Do you want to deactivate user screen

Deactivated users have an option to Reactivate. You can follow the same process to reactivate the user, after which they will receive an email informing them that they can access the SDE again.

SDE user with status marked as deactivated

 

Last edited: 17 March 2026 3:08 pm