Each worklist must be reviewed and acted upon appropriately. The actions available for each referral will depend on the referral’s history. When an initial referring user accesses the worklist tab they will be presented with a dashboard type format.
At the top of the screen, the ‘Show referrals for:’ information line will only be displayed to referring clinician users. Other referring users will not see these options.
The ‘Show referrals for:’ radio button will be automatically defaulted to ‘Me’ on entering the worklist tab.
This means the referring clinician will see referrals in the worklists for which they are the referrer for the organisation they have logged in under.
Changing the radio button to show referrals for ‘My organisation’, will display the total number of referrals in the worklist for the organisation the user has logged in under.
Referring clinician admin/Referring admin
On the worklist home screen, a referring clinician admin or referring admin user will see the total number of referrals for the organisation the user has logged in under. Users will notice that the ‘Show referrals for:’ information line isn't displayed.
Users will have six worklists tiles presented.
When a worklist is selected, the associated worklist tile will present a blue line at the bottom of the tile box. This indicates which worklist information is currently being displayed.
Selecting any of the worklist tiles will open the worklist and display a filter pane on the left side of the screen.
The options that will be shown in this filter area will be dependent on the referral information available in each worklist.
For example, if only ‘Routine’ and ‘2 Week Wait’ referrals are in the worklist results, then only these options will be available to be selected to filter on.
When filters are selected, these will be applied to the list automatically and will be retained whilst the user remains on the worklist.
The filters will not be retained if the user moves between other worklists, moves between tabs, for example, moving to reports and back again, or logs out and logs back in again.
When filters are selected, a ‘Filters applied’ label appears detailing how many results are being shown from the number of referrals available on the worklist. In the screen example above, there are five referrals out of 27, which are being displayed.
There is an option to ‘Clear all filters’ which returns the user to the original data set.
The filter panel can be hidden to allow further screen space to view the worklist information.
The filter panel can be reintroduced by selecting ‘Show filters’.
The column headers can be sorted by selecting the arrows next to the heading titles.
Any sorting applied will be retained if the user moves to a different e-RS screen and then returns. For example, actions a referral and returns to the worklist.
When a UBRN is selected from a worklist, the user is taken to the referral summary screen where information can be viewed or actions performed. *See the exclusions on this in the Advice and Guidance worklist information below.
In the UBRN column, there are 2 notification badges:
‘New’ badge – this will appear next to any referrals that have arrived on the worklist since the user last viewed it and where no action from the organisation has been taken. This badge will be displayed on the following worklists:
Once the referral has been selected, either by the logged in user or by someone else in the same organisation, the badge will be removed and the count in the worklist tile updated.
If the required action is taken, the referral will be removed from the worklist and the worklist tile count updated.
‘Overdue’ badge – this will appear on the ‘Letters outstanding’ worklist next to any referral for which the clinical information is overdue.
Routine referral letters should be attached within three days of the referral being created, one day for urgent and one day for two Week Wait.
If information is not attached after this time period, the ‘Overdue’ badge will be displayed.
Once a letter is added to a referral, it will be removed from the worklist and the count on the ‘Letter outstanding’ worklist tile updated.
If a patient name is too long for the column on this worklist, the user can hover over the name for the full name to be revealed as a tooltip.
If a referral is locked, the name of the user is displayed below the locked UBRN.
The lock indicates that another user within the organisation is working on that referral. If you click the UBRN of the locked referral, a message similar to one below will be displayed.
A lock symbol can also appear if the last user to click on the UBRN within the worklist did not use one of the options available for managing that referral. For example, if after selecting the UBRN, the user closed the browser. The options that should be used are 'Cancel' or 'Go back to worklists'. Such referrals can be locked for upto 30 minutes.
To the right of the worklist screen, information is shown detailing when the worklists were last updated.
When users select a referral to either perform an action, or review information, and then return to the worklist, the information will automatically be refreshed.
The blue ‘Refresh’ link can be selected to retrieve the latest worklist information at any time.
Export to Excel
When a worklist is selected the user will notice an ‘Export to Excel’ option to the right of the screen. All referring users will be able to export the information displayed on the worklist into an Excel format.
The example above shows how the worklist would look when exported into Excel. The information displayed is exactly what the user was viewing on the worklist. From here, the user can print or save the information.
When a worklist is selected the user will notice an ‘Add/remove columns’ option on the right side of the screen. From here a drop-down arrow can be selected. This reveals tick boxes. The user can select which column headings to display or hide from here.
Things to note:
the columns available to select are based on those displayed in the active worklist
the columns not shown on this reveal are mandatory and cannot be removed (for example, UBRN, patient name, priority and status)
to add or remove columns, select the required tick box and select ‘Save’
any changes are saved permanently and remembered
NOTE: All worklists should be monitored regularly.
Users will have six worklists tiles presented. The 'Referrer Action Required' worklist has been removed and these referrals separated into three new worklists: