Skip to main content

Quality Accounts

Quality Accounts are annual reports about the quality of services provided by an NHS healthcare service. They are published by each NHS healthcare provider, including the independent sector, and are made available to the public.

Links to the data for the 15 mandatory indicators (and one non-statutory indicator), based on recommendations by the National Quality Board, are set out below and also in the left-hand navigation list to enable providers easy access to the latest data. They align closely with the NHS Outcomes Framework and are all based on data that trusts already report on nationally.

The intention is that trusts will be required to report:

  • their performance against these indicators; presented in a table format, for at least the last two reporting periods
  • the national average
  • a supporting commentary, which may explain variation from the national average and any steps taken or planned to improve quality

The Quality Accounts are split down into the following 5 domains:

Domain 1 - Preventing people from dying prematurely

This domain includes:

  • Summary Hospital-level Mortality Indicator (SHMI)
  • Patients on Care Programme Approach (CPA) followed up within 7 days of discharge from psychiatric inpatient stay
  • Category 1 mean response time (response within 7 minutes)
  • Category 2 mean response time (response within 18 minutes)
  • patients with suspected ST elevation myocardial infarction who received the STEMI bundle
  • patients with suspected stroke assessed face to face who received the stroke diagnostic bundle

Find out more about domain 1.

Domain 2 - Enhancing quality of life for people with long-term conditions

This domain includes admissions to acute wards where the Crisis Resolution Home Treatment Team were gatekeepers.

Find out more about domain 2.

Domain 3 - Helping people to recover from episodes of ill health or following injury

This domain includes:

  • Patient Reported Outcome Measures (PROMS)
  • patients readmitted to a hospital within 30 days of being discharged

Find out more about domain 3.

Domain 4 - Ensuring people have a positive experience of care

This domain includes:

  • responsiveness to the personal needs of patients
  • staff who would recommend the trust to their family or friends
  • patients who would recommend the trust to their family or friends
  • patient experience of community mental health services

Find out more about domain 4.

Domain 5 - Treating and caring for people in a safe environment and protecting them from avoidable harm

This domain includes:

  • patients admitted to hospital who were risk assessed for venous thromboembolism
  • rate of C.difficile infection
  • patient safety incidents and the percentage that resulted in severe harm or death

Find out more about domain 5.

Last edited: 7 August 2020 1:03 pm