Where there has been no activity on a referral/unique booking reference number (UBRN) for 18 months or more, it will automatically be moved into a file called the Archive Viewer. You do not need to do anything as this will happen in the background. Where there are related referrals there must be no activity against any of the referrals in the care path.
The Archive Viewer has the same safety protocols as any smartcard accessible application.
‘No activity’ is defined as no history actions being recorded against the UBRN within the NHS e-Referral Service.
A deletion process will take place once the UBRN has moved from the live NHS e-Referral Service into the Archive Viewer. All referrals, including appointment requests and advice and guidance requests, are affected once they have not been active for 18 months or more. Archived files will include all clinical information, attachments and referral history.
The archiving process provides three key benefits:
- Allows for better management of referrals that are no longer active but may still require accessing.
- Speeds up the NHS e-Referral Service by holding old files in a separate area.
- Reduces the cost of keeping old referrals in the live environment.