Skip to main content

NHS Digital Board members

Our Board is made up of our executive directors and non-executive directors, and reports to the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC).

The NHS Digital board is our most senior decision-making body, accountable to the public, Parliament and the Secretary of State for Health.

Our clinical leadership team members are all experienced front line health and care staff, who make sure we always get the best outcomes for patients and health and care workers.

Our executive team is a group of our most senior staff, who take responsibility for specific areas of our work.


Laura Wade-Gery

Laura Wade-Gery, Chair of NHS Digital Board
Laura is Chair of the NHS Digital Board, as well as Chair of the Talent, Remuneration and Management Committee.

Find out more about Laura Wade-Gery

Non-Executive Directors

Professor Sudhesh Kumar, OBE 

Professor Sudhesh Kumar OBE, Vice-Chair of the NHS Digital Board

On the Board of NHS Digital, Sudhesh leads big data, the research sector, clinical informatics/medtech and life sciences strategy.

Find out more about Sudhesh

Dr Marko Balabanovic

Dr Marko Balabanovic, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

Marko leads on innovation, emerging technologies, partnerships and technology transfers on the Board.

Find out more about Marko

Professor Soraya Dhillon, MBE

Professor Soraya Dhillon MBE, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

On the Board of NHS Digital, Soraya leads for clinical safety and governance, echannels and diversity and inclusion.

Find out more about Soraya

Daniel Benton

Daniel Benton, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

On the Board of NHS Digital, Daniel leads for I.T. delivery excellence, operational transformation and technology strategy.

Find out more about Daniel

Deborah Oakley

Deborah Oakley, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

Deborah Oakley is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. She joined the Board on 1 July 2018 and leads on assurance and risk. She chairs the Assurance and Risk Committee (ARC).

Find out more about Deborah

Balram Veliath

Balram Veliath, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

Balram Veliath is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. He joined the Board on 1 July 2018, leading on culture, values and stakeholder relations.

Find out more about Balram

John Noble CBE

John Noble, Non-executive director, NHS Digital

John Noble CBE is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. He joined the Board on 1 July 2018 and leads for information and cyber security, along with chairing the Information and Cyber Security Committee (IACSC).

Find out more about John

Executive Board members

Sarah Wilkinson, Chief Executive

Sara Wilkinson, Chief Executive of NHS Digital

Sarah Wilkinson became our Chief Executive in August 2017.

Executive responsibilities

  • Member of digital delivery board
  • Chair of the operations board
  • International strategy
  • Innovation 

Find out more about Sarah

Pete Rose, Deputy CEO

Pete Rose, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Information Security Officer, NHS Digital

Pete Rose joined NHS Digital in May 2020 as Deputy CEO and leads the Live Services, Cyber Security, Solutions Assurance and Infrastructure functions. Alongside this, he has also adopted the new role of Chief Information Security Officer for the Health and Social Care System.

Find out more about Pete Rose

Carl Vincent, Chief Financial Officer

Carl Vincent, Chief Finance Officer

Executive responsibilities

  • Chief financial officer
  • Finance and commercial

  • Corporate portfolio office (benefits). 

Executive sponsor: Corporate and operational development

  • Business and operational delivery
  • Finance
  • Knowledge management

Find out more about Carl

Professor Jonathan Benger, Acting Interim Chief Medical Officer

Professor Jonathan Benger, Executive Director of Clinical Governance and Chief Medical Officer, NHS Digital 

Professor Jonathan Benger is the Acting Interim Chief Medical Officer of NHS Digital. Between May 2013 and July 2019 Jonathan was the National Clinical Director for Urgent Care at NHS England, and led reform of the ambulance services and wider emergency care system, including implementation of the NHS England review of Urgent and Emergency Care, the development of the NHS Long Term Plan and the Emergency Care Data Set.

Before 2013, Jonathan chaired the Clinical Effectiveness Committee of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine and served on the College’s Council and Executive.

Find our more about Professor Jonathan Benger

Ex-officio Board members

Matthew Gould 

Matthew Gould ex officio board member of NHS Digital

Matthew is the CEO for NHSX, a new body set up to ensure that staff and patients have the technology they need. 

Find out more about Matthew

Dr Simon Eccles

Dr Simon Eccles, Chief clinical Information Officer for Health and Care

Dr Simon Eccles is the Chief Clinical Information Officer for Health and Care. His role spans the Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England, NHS Improvement and the arms-length bodies.

Find out more about Simon

Further information

  1. internal

    NHS Digital Board members expenses

    Board expenses cover all travel and accommodation costs incurred and business expenses claimed during each quarter by our Board members.

Last edited: 4 February 2021 3:56 pm