Skip to main content
Creating a new NHS England: NHS England and NHS Digital merged on 1 February 2023. More about the merger.

Implementation process for NHS healthcare organisations

Find out how to implement Female Genital Mutilation - Information Sharing (FGM-IS) within your NHS healthcare organisation.

Our users

FGM-IS is for all NHS funded providers of healthcare to children, across all clinical settings, including:

  • GPs
  • GP practice nurses
  • midwives
  • health visitors
  • school nurses
  • local safeguarding leads

The implementation process

FGM-IS is currently being implemented in NHS healthcare organisations across England. The implementation process varies depending on how you access FGM-IS. There are currently two access routes, using either the Summary Care Record application (SCRa) or an integrated solution (a local IT system integrated with FGM-IS).

NHS Digital is leading implementation activities, working closely with NHS healthcare organisations to guide and support them through the implementation process and we can provide detailed guidance documents. We can also put you in contact with organisations that have implemented FGM-IS.

Find out how simple using the FGM-IS is on the SCRa by watching a 3-minute step by step video:

FGM-IS is only available via 2 GP IT suppliers, EMIS AND CERNER currently. However, this is a work around for  customers not using EMIS and CERNER via the Summary Care Record Application (SCRa) route.

If you cannot see the FGM-IS within Summary Care Record application  (SCRa) you will need to contact your RBAC lead and get this set up, so you have the permission to view this via RBAC and smartcard authentication. 

If you are the RBAC lead, you will need to set this up using the SCRa RBAC (b-codes) for FGM functionality. 

The RBAC codes for FGM-IS are as follows:

SCRa RBAC (b-codes) for FGM functionality - Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)

B0370 - View the FGM Tab

B0380 - Update FGM Information

Last edited: 15 March 2022 3:45 pm