Skip to main content

NHS Digital Board

Our Board is made up of our executive directors and non-executive directors, and reports to the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC).

The NHS Digital board is our most senior decision-making body, accountable to the public, Parliament and the Secretary of State for Health.

Our clinical leadership team members are all experienced front line health and care staff, who make sure we always get the best outcomes for patients and health and care workers.

Our executive team is a group of our most senior staff, who take responsibility for specific areas of our work.


Noel Gordon, Chair of NHS Digital Board

Noel is Chairman of the NHS Digital Board, as well as Chair of the Talent, Remuneration and Management Committee. He is also non-executive director of NHS England and Chair of Healthcare UK’s Advisory Board.

Noel was formerly a member of the Life Sciences Industrial Strategy Board, the Accelerated Access Review and Chair of NHS England’s Specialised Services Commissioning Committee.

Find out more about Noel.

Non-Executive Directors

Dr Marko Balabanovic

Dr Marko Balabanovic

Marko leads on innovation, emerging technologies, partnerships and technology transfers on the Board.

Find out more about Marko.

Professor Soraya Dhillon, MBE

Professor Soraya Dhillon MBE

On the Board of NHS Digital, Soraya leads for clinical safety and governance, echannels and diversity and inclusion.

Find out more about Soraya.

Daniel Benton

Daniel Benton

On the Board of NHS Digital, Daniel leads for I.T. delivery excellence, operational transformation and technology strategy.

Find out more about Daniel.

Deborah Oakley

Deborah Oakley

Deborah Oakley is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. She joined the Board on 1 July 2018 and leads on assurance and risk. She chairs the Assurance and Risk Committee (ARC).

Find out more about Deborah.

Professor Sudhesh Kumar, OBE 

Professor Sudhesh Kumar

On the Board of NHS Digital, Sudhesh leads for big data, the research sector, clinical informatics/medtech and life sciences strategy.

Find out more about Sudhesh.

Rob Tinlin, MBE

Rob Tinlin MBE

Rob Tinlin, MBE leads on integrated care, digitising social care, change management and organisational development.

Find out more about Rob.

Balram Veliath

Balram Veilath

Balram Veliath is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. He joined the Board on 1 July 2018, leading on culture, values and stakeholder relations.

Find out more about Balram.

John Noble CBE

John Noble CBE

John Noble CBE is a non-executive director on the NHS Digital Board. He joined the Board on 1 July 2018 and leads for information and cyber security, along with chairing the Information and Cyber Security Committee (IACSC).

Find out more about John.

Executive Board members

Sarah Wilkinson, Chief Executive

Sarah Wilkinson, Chief Executive of NHS Digital

Sarah Wilkinson became our Chief Executive in August 2017.

Executive responsibilities

  • Member of digital delivery board
  • Chair of the operations board
  • International strategy
  • Innovation (from 14 August)

Find out more about Sarah.

Rob Shaw, C.B.E., Deputy Chief Executive

Rob Shaw, Deputy Chief Executive at NHS Digital

Rob was appointed as NHS Digital's Deputy Chief Executive in August 2017, after serving as Interim Chief Executive in early 2017 and Chief Operating Officer since April 2016. He was awarded the CBE for his services to Health and Social Care in 2018.

Find out more about Rob.

Carl Vincent, Chief Financial Officer

Carl Vincent, Chief Financial Officer for NHS Digital

Executive responsibilities

  • Chief financial officer
  • Finance and commercial

  • Corporate portfolio office (benefits). 

Executive sponsor: Corporate and operational development

  • Business and operational delivery
  • finance
  • knowledge management

Find out more about Carl.

Professor Jonathan Benger is the Acting Interim Chief Medical Officer of NHS Digital. Between May 2013 and July 2019 Jonathan was the National Clinical Director for Urgent Care at NHS England, and led reform of the ambulance services and wider emergency care system, including implementation of the NHS England review of Urgent and Emergency Care, the development of the NHS Long Term Plan and the Emergency Care Data Set. Before 2013 Jonathan chaired the Clinical Effectiveness Committee of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine and served on the College’s Council and Executive.

Find our more about Professor Jonathan Benger

Ex-officio Board members

Matthew Gould 

Matthew Gould ex officio board member of NHS Digital

Matthew is the CEO for NHSX, a new body set up to ensure that staff and patients have the technology they need. 

Find out more about Matthew.

Dr Simon Eccles

Dr Simon Eccles, Chief clinical Information Officer for Health and Care

Dr Simon Eccles is the Chief Clinical Information Officer for Health and Care. His role spans the Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England, NHS Improvement and the arms-length bodies.

Find out more about Simon.

Related pages

  1. internal

    NHS Digital board directors expenses

    Board expenses for the new HSCIC organisation are published here when available. These documents cover all travel and accommodation costs incurred and business expenses claimed during each quarter by our Board members. Future information will be published as close to the quarter end as possible.

Last edited: 6 December 2019 4:47 pm